Open-Source Calculus

I’m (re(re))taking the second course on calculus during the summer at the university. It’s going much better this time around, which is a good thing.

I did have problems with one problem (har), and I couldn’t make sense of it on my messy notebook, and I didn’t feel like doing the entire problem over again. The only thing wrong with my solution is that the answers in the back of the book said term1 – term2, while I kept getting term2 – term1 in my notebook, so I wasn’t too far off but still couldn’t get it right — couldn’t find the erring minus sign. All I really felt like was doing some programming, which I enjoy, but what would I code if I have no software needs?

Then I thought: I need to get a more structured view of this problem. Why not write it up in LaTeX and make it into a nice, good-enough-to-print, PDF solution. That way, I will get some practice writing LaTeX documents (it’s been a few months, sadly), and writing LaTeX is pretty much programming in a way, so I get to practice LaTeX, scratch my coding itch, and maybe find out where that offending minus sign went.

Sure enough, it worked pretty well.

Solution to problem 6.2.9 in Calculus, A Complete Course (Sixth Edition).

I want to point out that this PDF was produced entirely using Free and Open-Source Software (FOSS):

  • texlive LaTeX distribution (tex->PDF compiler: pdflatex/pdftex)
  • GNU Emacs as the LaTeXt editor
  • Ubuntu Linux to run Emacs and tex compiler
  • Totem to play music while writing up the solution
  • Grip + oggenc to rip CDs to Ogg Vorbis
  • Ogg Vorbis media container format
  • libVorbis 1.2.0 used by oggenc (darn you Ubuntu for not updating libVorbis since 2007)
  • and so forth.

It works, folks!

Leave a Reply

