Thank you Microsoft

Microsoft has done it again! I continue to be safe from something that wasn’t a threat in the first place. (Or was it?)

Windows terminated an application to protect my computer. However, an interesting question is: Which application?

irony

My version of Windows XP is Swedish, so I will translate:

Titlebar: Data execution protection [I guess]
In bold: This application was terminated to protect the computer.
Name: [The] Explorer
Publisher: Microsoft Corporation
Button: Close the message
Below horizontal line: Data execution protection helps protect against harm from viruses and other threats.
Link: What should I do?

Apparently Windows thought Explorer was a threat and terminated it accordingly. Explorer shut down after giving me a message that it had terminated in an “unexpected” way, but of course, Explorer being Explorer, it started right back up again. But Windows was not complaining this time.

And all I wanted to do was to shut down the computer. Do you think you can handle that, Windows?

Leave a Reply

